Kathryn Smaw Amerson – The Caregivers

Standard

by Cathy B Stucker

What is your most recent book? Tell us a bit about it.

The Caregivers is my first novel. It is a work of creative non-fiction. The events are real, but the names have been changed to protect the innocent as well as the guilty. Many issues of eldercare are revealed as the main character, having been diagnosed with dementia, is forced through the healthcare system. In her nineties, she endures nursing homes, home health care, and hospitals. The characters she encounters in each place are illustrative of the service providers in the medical field.

Tell us something about yourself.

// //

I live in New Bern, North Carolina. The novel is set in this small Southern city, rich with Revolutionary and Antebellum activity. I have been a History professor in our local college for 15 years. Writing seems to come naturally with this profession. Though my research background is European Reformation history, modern social issues have come to the forefront in my writing.

What inspired you to write this book?

I had a great-aunt, pronounced “ont” because she insisted that she was not an insect, with whom I was very close. I was a young wife and mother with a budding career when she was suddenly thrust into a medical nightmare. The treatment she encountered and the personalities who provided care were so entirely opposite of her own altruistic personality that my anger and frustration were magnified with each new encounter. When she died, I did not want her legacy to be the last years of her life. I wanted to capture the grace and style of her productive years and contrast them with the manner in which she was cast aside when she was presumably no longer productive. The other part of the story is that several attorneys offered to represent me in lawsuits as a result of the negligence of her care. I determined that suing might help me financially, but it probably would not effect change in eldercare. My drive to complete this book became the awareness that it could generate on many levels for social and healthcare issues.

more… http://www.sellingbooks.com/kathryn-smaw-amerson-the-caregivers

Leave a Reply

